top of page
Search

Hump Day

Updated: Mar 26, 2020

Is it me, or does this Wednesday feel like a Monday? It is strange to have all of your days feel the same. It reminds me of when I was home on maternity leave and every day is Groundhog Day. You forget that the weekend is the weekend because every day begins and ends exactly the same. Well, I could have easily forgotten that today was Wednesday, because it feels an awful lot like a Monday!


The absolute highlight of our distance learning experience today was that my toddler got to talk to, and see, his friends from daycare! It was so great to hear all of that laughter in one place. All of those little smiles as he shouted out their names when saw their faces. If you have younger kiddos who don't have a way to video chat with friends, you really might want to try this with their friends. Another parent set up a Zoom meeting for today and we just clicked the link and were able to chat in a true "Brady Bunch" grid, it was wonderful.


My middle schooler on the other hand is able to video chat with his friends all day long. I love when I stumble upon their random conversations about literally nothing. Totally takes me back to the days of three-way calling and I would just sit on the phone for hours on end with friends. I think that is making all of this a little easier on him. He just stands up his phone and chats to friends the entire time he does his work. He was even working on an assignment with friends this morning. They were working through the questions together, it made my heart happy to know that they are just going with the flow on all of this and adjusting quite nicely. The only huge change for him is that instead of waking up at 7:00 AM for school, he now crawls out of his cave of darkness around 9:30 AM. As principal of his new school, I will allow the change in school day hours.


How is the my new co-worker/substitute/husband doing today? Well, he threw in the towel early and resorted to playing Mario Kart. I think I am going to have to fire him because he is not taking this job very seriously! One nice thing is that the boredom inspired him to clean the bathroom, and I have been able to get a ton of work done at my living room desk, a.k.a my office, today.


Stay well my friends!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Captains Log: Day 70

Wow, who would have ever thought we would have made it to day 70? I know that I sure didn't, but am happy that I am still able to write this from my home office. There have been many changes since the

It's Been a While...

And for no real reason. I would like to pretend it is because I have been doing extravagant things, but that is not the case. To be honest, the days are seemingly the same, and it is wearing on me. I

Super Mask Maker Work From Home Mom

My family likes to joke and call me "Save the world Sarah" because I am always going out of my way to help others. I have been this way as long as I can remember. I would give my snacks away to others

bottom of page